Bitter-sweet

It is September already, and this is the time when my garden become a battle field. This is the time when I may have the more of them. One is perching on the Weigela bush, a key position over the garden. The other one took over the feeder beside the bench,   a little one will guard the feeder on the deck, and two other are chasing these three, trying to get the best places to watch and feed.

Flowers in good shape, feeders with  fresh syrup, frenzy hummingbirds hovering, chasing, buzzing around.  They give me so much joy, and I try to ignore the fact that this may be the last day to see them here. And I am glad for each and every day they are here, before they take the long big trip to South.

DSCN2428 DSCN2443 DSCN2482 DSCN2487 DSCN2555 DSCN2577 DSCN2697 DSCN2854 DSCN2912 DSCN2965 DSCN2971 DSCN2987 DSCN3000 DSCN3003 DSCN3012 DSCN3036 DSCN3037 DSCN3126

4 responses to “Bitter-sweet

  1. Great pictures! I still haven’t been able to photograph one, although there was one coming every day to feed on Clematis heracleifolia ‘China Purple’; and spotted one on Saturday too. I hope they’ll stay a bit more…

    • The Clematis heracleifolia ‘China Purple” looks AWESOME!!!! It is now on my wish list for next year, do you have it at Lost Horizons? Lovely flowers and of course the color and shape just for the hummingbirds. And not only for hummingbirds, I do like it.
      My hummingbirds are gone already, just the “travelers” show up now. I can see some of them don’t use the feeders, only the flowers. I don’t have more than one around, or this is what I see. I am glad to hear there are more around, the latest day I’ve seen one here was October 10th. It looks like they left earlier this year, hope they have a good and safe trip down South.

      • C. China Purple is indeed a must have! I’m no longer at LH, I work on starting my seed shop 🙂
        There was nothing left last year, but who knows…I have seeds if you cannot find any. There are other heracleifolias looking almost the same, ‘Alan Bloom’ is one that comes to my mind (but it spread around).
        I also had around that annual blue salvia from Belgian Nursery you showed last year so probably that’s why I attracted more hummies this summer!

      • Multumesc Gaby! si mult succes cu magazinul de seminte. Da-mi de stire cand il deschizi. Nu am nimic din conditiile potrivite pentru cresterea semintelor, dar nu pot rezista provocarii, mai ales cand imi place prea mult o planta. Bravo si Succes!!!!! Toate cele bune! dana
        PS: how did you like the Black&Blue Salvia? did you get some seeds from it? I tried the seeds and it works well, I ve had 3 plants last year, and got it blooming. Just that it was very difficult to find the seeds from the plant, and then, I don’t have the space and conditions to grow the seeds properly.

Leave a Reply

